The major science fiction awards

This page came about as part of my investigations into creating a literary canon for the science fiction genre. Science fiction has four major awards: the Hugo, the Nebula, the John W. Campbell award and the Arthur C. Clarke award. The latter two are only awarded for novels, the former have multiple categories; for now, I'll concentrate on the novel categories. The Hugo is voted upon by fans, the Nebula by writers and the Campbell and Clarke award are jury voted awards; they all have slightly different perspectives on what's a good sf novel.

Hugo Award winners

The Hugo Awards are voted on by the members of the Worldcon. As such they tend to be more of a popularity contest then the other awards and may be awarded more because of whom the author is then on the strength of the book itself.

2007 Rainbows End Vernor Vinge
2006 Spin Robert Charles Wilson
2005 Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norell Susanna Clarke
2004 Paladin of Souls Lois McMaster Bujold
2003 Hominids Robert Sawyer
2002 American Gods Neil Gaiman
2001 Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire J. K. Rowling
2000 A Deepness in the Sky Vernor Vinge
1999 To Say Nothing of the Dog Connie Willis
1998 Forever Peace Joe Haldeman
1997 Blue Mars Kim Stanley Robinson
1996 The Diamond Age Neal Stephenson
1995 Mirror Dance Lois McMaster Bujold
1994 Green Mars Kim Stanley Robinson
1993 A Fire Upon the Deep Vernor Vinge
1993 Doomsday Book Connie Willis
1992 Barrayar Lois McMaster Bujold
1991 The Vor Game Lois McMaster Bujold
1990 Hyperion Dan Simmons
1989 Cyteen C.J. Cherryh
1988 The Uplift War David Brin
1987 Speaker For the Dead Orson Scott Card
1986 Ender's Game Orson Scott Card
1985 Neuromancer William Gibson
1984 Startide Rising David Brin
1983 Foundation's Edge Isaac Asimov
1982 Downbelow Station C.J. Cherryh
1981 The Snow Queen Joan D. Vinge
1980 The Fountains of Paradise Arthur C. Clarke
1979 Dreamsnake Vonda McIntyre
1978 Gateway Frederik Pohl
1977 Where Late the Sweet Birds Sang Kate Wilhelm
1976 The Forever War Joe Haldeman
1975 The Dispossessed Ursula K. Le Guin
1974 Rendezvous with Rama Arthur C. Clarke
1973 The Gods Themselves Isaac Asimov
1972 To Your Scattered Bodies Go Philip Jose Farmer
1971 Ringworld Larry Niven
1970 The Left Hand of Darkness Ursula K. Le Guin
1969 Stand on Zanzibar John Brunner
1968 Lord of Light Roger Zelazny
1967 The Moon is a Harsh Mistress Robert A. Heinlein
1966 This Immortal Roger Zelazny
1966 Dune Frank Herbert
1965 The Wanderer Fritz Leiber
1964 Way Station Clifford Simak
1963 The Man in the High Castle Philip K. Dick
1962 Stranger in a Strange Land Robert A. Heinlein
1961 A Canticle for Leibowitz Walter M. Miller, Jr.
1960 Starship Troopers Robert A. Heinlein
1959 A Case of Conscience James Blish
1958 The Big Time Fritz Leiber
1956 Double Star Robert A. Heinlein
1955 They'd Rather be Right Mark Clifton and Frank Riley
1953 The Demolished Man Alfred Bester

Nebula Award

The Nebula is voted upon by the SFWA: Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America. The award tend to skew more towards literary books then the Hugo, tending to reward more "writers' books".

2006 Seeker Jack McDevitt
2005 Camouflage Joe Haldeman
2004 Paladin of Souls Lois McMaster Bujold
2003 Speed of Dark Elizabeth Moon
2002 American Gods Neil Gaiman
2001 Quantum Roses Catherine Asaro
2000 Darwin's Radios Greg Bear
1999 Parable of the Talents Octavia Butler
1998 Forever Peace Joe Haldeman
1997 Moon and the Sun Vonda N. McIntyre
1996 Slow River Nicola Griffith
1995 Hobson's Choice
(also known as Terminal Experiment)
Robert J Sawyer
1994 Moving Mars Greg Bear
1993 Red Mars Kim Stanley Robinson
1992 Doomsday Book Connie Willis
1991 Stations of the Tide Michael Swanwick
1990 Tehanu: The Last Book of Earthsea Ursula K. Le Guin
1989 Healer's War Elizabeth Ann Scarborough
1988 Falling Free Lois McMaster Bujold
1987 Falling Woman Pat Murphy
1986 Speaker For The Dead Orson Scott Card
1985 Ender's Game Orson Scott Card
1984 Neuromancer William Gibson
1983 Startide Rising David Brin
1982 No Enemy But Time Michael Bishop
1981 Claw of the Conciliator Gene Wolfe
1980 Timescape Gregory Benford
1979 Fountains of Paradise Arthur C. Clarke
1978 Dreamsnake Vonda N. McIntyre
1977 Gateway Frederik Pohl
1976 Man Plus Frederik Pohl
1975 Forever War Joe Haldeman
1974 Dispossessed Ursula K. Le Guin
1973 Rendezvous With Rama Arthur C. Clarke
1972 The Gods Themselves Isaac Asimov
1971 Time of Changes Robert Silverberg
1970 Ringworld Larry Niven
1969 Left Hand Of Darkness Ursula K. Le Guin
1968 Rite of Passage Alexei Panshin
1967 Einstein Intersection Samuel R. Delany
1966 Babel-17 Samuel R. Delany
1966 Flowers for Algernon Daniel Keyes
1965 Dune Frank Herbert

Arthur C. Clarke Award winners

The Arthur C. Clarke award is awarded each year for best new sf novel published in the UK the previous year. It's funded by a grant from Arthur C. Clarke, administered by the science fiction foundation, of which Clarke is a patron, the BSFA and the International Science Policy Foundation. The winner is selected by a yearly changing jury to which each of the aforemented institutions contributes two members.

2007 Nova Swing M. John Harrison
2006 Air Geoff Ryman
2005 Iron Council China Miéville
2004 Quicksilver Neal Stephenson
2003 The Separation Christopher Priest
2002 Bold as Love Gwyneth Jones
2001 Perdido Street Station China Mieville
2000 Distraction Bruce Sterling
1999 Dreaming in Smoke by Tricia Sullivan
1998 The Sparrow by Mary Doria Russell
1997 The Calcutta Chromosome by Amitav Ghosh
1996 Fairyland by Paul J McAuley
1995 Fools by Pat Cadigan
1994 Vurt by Jeff Noon
1993 Body of Glass
(published as He, She and It in the U.S.)
by Marge Piercy
1992 Synners by Pat Cadigan
1991 Take Back Plenty by Colin Greenland
1990 The Child Garden by Geoff Ryman
1989 Unquenchable Fire by Rachel Pollack
1988 Drowning Towers
(also know as The Sea and Summer)
by George Turner
1987 The Handmaid's Tale by Margaret Atwood

John W. Campbell Memorial Award

Not to be confused by the John W. Campbell Award, this award is given to the best sf novel published in English in the previous year, as selected by a committee of sf writers and critics.

2007 Titan Ben Bova
2006 Mindscan Robert J. Sawyer
2005 Market Forces Richard Morgan
2004 Omega Jack McDevitt
2003 Probability Space Nancy Kress
2002 Terraforming Earth & The Chronoliths (tie) Jack Williamson / Robert Charles Wilson
2001 Genesis Poul Anderson
2000 A Deepness in the Sky Vernor Vinge
1999 Brute Orbits George Zebrowski
1998 Forever Peace Joe Haldeman
1997 Fairyland Paul J. McAuley
1996 The Time Ships Stephen Baxter
1995 Permutation City Greg Egan
1994 (No Award)
1993 Brother to Dragons by Charles Sheffield
1992 Buddy Holly Is Alive and Well on Ganymede by Bradley Denton
1991 Pacific Edge by Kim Stanley Robinson
1990 The Child Garden by Geoff Ryman
1989 Islands in the Net by Bruce Sterling
1988 Lincoln's Dreams by Connie Willis
1987 A Door Into Ocean by Joan Slonczewski
1986 The Postman by David Brin
1985 The Years of the City by Frederik Pohl
1984 Citadel of the Autarch by Gene Wolfe
1983 Helliconia Spring by Brian W. Aldiss
1982 Ridley Walker by Russell Hoban
1981 Timescape by Gregory Benford
1980 On Wings of Song by Thomas M. Disch
1979 Gloriana by Michael Moorcock
1978 Gateway by Frederick Pohl
1977 The Alternation by Kingsley Amis
1976 The Year of the Quiet Sun by Wilson Tucker
1975 Flow My Tears, the Policeman Said by Philip K. Dick
1974 Rendezvous with Rama by Arthur C. Clarke
1974 Malevil by Robert Merle
1973 Beyond Apollo by Barry N. Malzberg

HTML 4.0 Checked!

Webpage created 26-08-2001, last updated 14-01-2008